Definition of Curriculum: All of our business with our students - includes all types of learning.

Our school curriculum is guided by the Brisbane Catholic Education Learning Framework which has the Roles for Lifelong Learners at its core.

Our goal as a Catholic Christian community is to educate all to live the gospel of Jesus Christ as successful, creative and confident, active and informed learners empowered to shape and enrich our world. As such, Sacred Heart School is committed to the implementation of the Australian curriculum which sets consistent high standards for what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling.

It focuses on learning area content and achievement standards, and gives attention to seven general capabilities that are important for life and work in the 21st century, and to three issues identified in the Melbourne Declaration as needing more attention than they have received in curricula to date.


(For detailed information with regards to individual learning areas please go to the Australian Curriculum website.)

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Religion
  • Humanities & Social Sciences - History, Geography, Economics & Business, Civics & Citizenship
  • The Arts - Drama, Dance, Media, Music, Visual Arts
  • Technologies - Design & Technologies, Digital Technologies
  • Health & Physical Education
  • Japanese at Sacred Heart